Click here to view larger image

Click here to view larger image

Allman Brothers Band
Beacon Theater 3/9/09

 E-mail this product to a friend


The Allman Brothers Band dedicated this year’s Beacon run to the memory of founder Duane Allman, so it was only fitting that they opened the run with “Little Martha," a song Brother Duane wrote.  The rarely-played instrumental was an early indication that this year’s Beacon shows would be extra special!

This show also featured the debut of an untitled new instrumental, which was written by Derek and Warren. This jazzy number will surely become an Allman Brothers classic, and helped satisfy fans hungry for new material.


An incredible run of special guests began with two living legends, Taj Mahal and Levon Helm. Taj’s rendition of “Statesboro Blues” inspired the ABB’s version, so it was great to see them play it together. With a little help from guitar master Larry Campbell and his wife Teresa Williams, plus keyboardist Brian Mitchell, Levon turned the Beacon into a singalong tent revival for a medley of classics by The Band, capped off by a passionate “The Weight.”


All this and one of the most psychedelic, explosive versions of “Mountain Jam” in recent years, and it’s only opening night!

Disc One

1. Little Martha (2:41)

2. Don't Want You No More (2:37)

3. It's Not My Cross To Bear (5:00)

4. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (6:41)

5. The Same Thing (9:21)

6. Stage Banter (0:31)
7. New Instrumental (9:56)

8. Midnight Rider (3:20)

9. Leave My Blues At Home (6:29)

10. Announcements (0:59)
11. Leavin' Trunk (6:05) #

Disc Two

1. 44 Blues (10:29) #

2. Statesboro Blues (5:00) #

3. Ophelia (6:03) *

4. I Shall Be Released (6:47) *

5. The Weight (7:17) *

6. Black Hearted Woman (10:17)

Disc Three

1. Stormy Monday (9:39)

2. Mountain Jam (24:29)
3. Crowd Noise (1:29)
4. Southbound (6:51)

# = Taj Mahal, guitar and vocals

* = Levon Helm, drums and vocals; Brian Mitchell, keyboards; Larry Campbell, guitar and vocals; Teresa Williams, vocals

SKU: CD450
Price: $27.00